Skip to content

New Care Certificate Requirements

Government to introduce mandatory care certificates for staff from 2015

The new Care Certificate ensures that the healthcare professional has the required values, behaviours, competences and skills to provide high quality, compassionate care.

The Care Certificate is being tested during the spring and summer of 2014 to confirm that it is effective and fit for purpose and will be introduced in March 2015, replacing both the National Minimum Training Standards and the Common Induction Standards.

Required standards in the public, private and voluntary sector

These standards are relevant to services of any size and also include individual employers from the public, private and voluntary sectors. The information about the new Care Certificate is currently in draft format.

Relevant care services

Services which need to provide teams with training and skills under the new Care Certificate are;

  • Residential care
  • Domiciliary care
  • Supported living
  • Hospices
  • Housing services for older people
  • Dementia services
  • Mental health services
  • Re-ablement services
  • Respite care services
  • Learning disability services

What do I need to do next?

Ringway Training will keeping up to date on the latest developments, we are offering a new service to organisations to review your current training and suggest a package of courses (if required) to ensure your organisation is compliant with the new regulations as more details emerge, to register your interest in this please contact us.

View our Social Care Training

Created On 01/02/2017 00:00:00 by Ringway Training

Back to Blog Posts